Finally caught Luther. This came out around the same time as Sherlock and understandably everyone watched Sherlock with ol Cumberbatchie….I kinda of wrote it off, but after hearing some good things, I thought I would give it a go.

For those of you that don’t know, Luther is a murder detective drama. I am now all the way to Season 4. (I’ll review Season 4 separately once I’ve finished it.)

luther

It’s actually pretty darn good! Season 1 is the best so far. I haven’t watched Season 4 yet. The budget was clearly the smallest in season 1, with the sets, location and the outfits but the writing and the acting was superb! (especially from each episode’s supporting cast.)

There’s also the excellent Alice to match Luther against…..

alice

Why was Season 1 so good? Well, for a detective drama to work as a viewer there are some key elements, you can’t guess where the story is going, otherwise it would be boring, and you really can’t! There needs to be excellent dynamics between the characters!n Tick!

Season 2 flagged a little but overall was well worth watching, especially the ending!

Season 3 which I haven’t listed in the title is very disappointing. I wouldn’t bother watching it. Skip it and go straight to season 4. Trust me, you wouldn’t be missing anything. You might ask, why was it bad? Well, you remember what I said earlier about guessing the story, Luther goes from unpredictable to completely clichéd and predictable, and in addition, characters suddenly behave differently to how they would do in the first two seasons. DON’T BOTHER with season 3.

I am going to score Luther a 7.5 out of 10. If season 2 was better then I would have scored it higher but as a result it kinda dragged the score down. Also, you can’t help but compare sometimes…..I take Sherlock’s awesome coat over Luther’s coat and red tie, and Moriarty over Alice.

Leave a comment